I’m neglecting little d!

I just noticed that miss poopypants and Big D have bigger font sizes on their tags than does little d – which means that I’ve mentioned them more than him lately. As little d would say (if he were that kind of kid), “that’s so not fair, mommy!”

Even though he’s only in Kindergarten, he’s troubling his teacher with his lack of work ethic and focus. I can already hear the future teachers saying “if he would only live up to his potential…” Grrr. I’m at a complete loss. Both Big D and I were overachievers in school – you didn’t have to try to motivate us, we were already way too gung-ho. To have a kid who just isn’t that interested in learning for the hell of it makes us scratch our heads. We’ve tried threats, cajoling, negotiation, guilt, etc. Nothing really seems to click with him.

But our afternoon was great. His announcement that he didn’t get sent to the principal’s office AND that he didn’t have extra homework to do because he farted around in class was met with jubilation. We decided to play hooky from homework for a little while and enjoy the unseasonably warm weather; he in his cool faux shearling lined Buzz Lightyear hoodie, me in my overly bright green down vest. Couldn’t quite convince him to check out the Italian grocery store with me, but the bakery is always a hit. Brownies to eat now, M&M chocolate chip cookies to have later. Score one for mommy for graciously taking the cookies that were slightly disfigured from being at the bottom of the pile – half off a dozen cookies when they taste exactly the same is fine with me. Next door to the coffee shop (where one cookie is almost two bucks; compare that with my dozen at $2.50 and compliment me on my frugality, please!) for drinks and conversation. I often forget how bright he is, how completely random his thoughts are, and how much I miss our one on one time. It was just the two of us for almost two years, and although I love how our family has expanded, little d and I will always have some memories of Just the Two of Us. Afternoons with milk and cookies, just the two of us, remind me of just how special my big kid is.

Leave a Reply

